Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Did We Break Prima?

  1. #1
    Past Admin
    Mike029's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 24th, 2010
    Location
    Bronx, New York
    Posts
    3,377

    Did We Break Prima?

    I think we broke it. Real slow uploads.



  2. #2
    Gold Member
    trigggl's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 6th, 2010
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    1,992

    Re: Did We Break Prima?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike029 View Post
    I think we broke it. Real slow uploads.
    I think Mumps broke it.
    6r39 7r199



  3. #3
    Past Administrator
    DrPop's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 13th, 2010
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    7,083

    Re: Did We Break Prima?

    Quote Originally Posted by trigggl View Post
    I think Mumps broke it.
    Heh ... rather likely!

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 28th, 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    3,259

    Re: Did We Break Prima?

    It comes and goes. I guess putting those last couple hosts dedicated to PBA was the last straw.

    Hopefully they'll get it to recover before I run dry on too many hosts.

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    denim's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 1st, 2010
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    2,412

    Re: Did We Break Prima?

    It seems to go in waves for me. Some days it is running fine, others the WU's are stuck.

  6. #6
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    April 29th, 2011
    Posts
    22

    Re: Did We Break Prima?

    Quote Originally Posted by denim View Post
    It seems to go in waves for me. Some days it is running fine, others the WU's are stuck.
    Funny thing is that they supply my computer with 200 task because they thought my computer can finish them in 8 min instead of the actual 51 min so I never notice and they finally corrected my remaining time too.
    Last edited by Tomis; 08-17-11 at 12:13 PM.

  7. #7
    Platinum Member
    Mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 28th, 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    3,259

    Re: Did We Break Prima?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomis View Post
    Funny thing is that they supply my computer with 200 task because they thought my computer can finish them in 8 min instead of the actual 51 min so I never notice and they finally corrected my remaining time too.
    Yup. PBA is funny that way, like many projects that don't have good estimates built in to their WU's. So when you first attach, it thinks you can finish very quickly, then it finally finishes the first few and adjusts your DCF (Duration Correction Factor) to get close to reality. Many projects with that problem actaully limit the number of WU's you get get in chunks to keep from really ending up with a problem. PBA isn't all that good at that.

  8. #8
    Gold Member
    trigggl's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 6th, 2010
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    1,992

    Re: Did We Break Prima?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mumps View Post
    Yup. PBA is funny that way, like many projects that don't have good estimates built in to their WU's. So when you first attach, it thinks you can finish very quickly, then it finally finishes the first few and adjusts your DCF (Duration Correction Factor) to get close to reality. Many projects with that problem actaully limit the number of WU's you get get in chunks to keep from really ending up with a problem. PBA isn't all that good at that.
    That's why whenever I attach to a new project, I just download a few tasks and set to no new work until I complete a few.
    6r39 7r199



  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Crazybob's Son's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 12th, 2010
    Location
    Aurora, IL
    Posts
    537

    Re: Did We Break Prima?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomis View Post
    Funny thing is that they supply my computer with 200 task because they thought my computer can finish them in 8 min instead of the actual 51 min so I never notice and they finally corrected my remaining time too.
    Yeah, this is a slight issue if you download too much work. However, if the project goes down while you have all this work then you don't run into an issue of having no work and needing to move to another project. The only issue you may run into is if the project has relatively short turnaround/deadline dates.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    STMahlberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 1st, 2010
    Location
    AREA 51
    Posts
    1,533

    Re: Did We Break Prima?

    It appears to be back up in the sense that it is now taking my completed WUs; however, it's not giving me any new work and I'm running low.
    "My god! Do we really suck, or is this guy really that good?" - Mr Hertz - Shoot 'Em Up






Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •