Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 73

Thread: Getting the PPSieve WUs to run on ATI cards

  1. #1
    Platinum Member
    Maxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 25th, 2010
    Location
    Everett, WA
    Posts
    3,300

    Getting the PPSieve WUs to run on ATI cards

    Ok. Just figured this one out, so I'm posting a how-to for you folks with ATI cards on how to get this subproject to run (which will be helpful for the final PG challenge...). Before you attempt any of this, make sure you have closed BOINC (and this is intended for Windows systems):

    1. MAKE SURE YOUR ATI DRIVER HAS OPENCL SUPPORT!!! I was consistently getting errors, and an LAF member on the PG boards pointed out to me that the driver I was using didn't have OpenCL support. Once I upgraded, everything was fine. I'm using driver 10.10, which has OpenCL support. 10.7 does not, 10.11 (oddly) does not. Before installing/upgrading drivers, make sure you have this support. [Note: MW, DNETC, and Collatz were not written in OpenCL, so they don't run into this problem.]
    2. Download this executable file (it's safe) from the PG website and save it to your desktop.
    3. Navigate to your BOINC Data Directory, projects folder, PG folder. Drop the executable from step 2 in there.
    4. Open Notepad.
    5. Paste this (thank you .Steve/Paladin/Poorboy for posting this) into Notepad and save it to the same folder as in Step 3 with the file name "app_info.xml":
    Code:
    <app_info>
    <app>
    <name>pps_sr2sieve</name>
    <user_friendly_name>Proth Prime Search (Sieve)</user_friendly_name>
    </app>
    <file_info>
    <name>primegrid_tpsieve_1.35_windows_intelx86__ati13ati.exe</name>
    <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <app_version>
    <app_name>pps_sr2sieve</app_name>
    <version_num>135</version_num>
    <plan_class>ati13ati</plan_class>
    <avg_ncpus>0.05</avg_ncpus>
    <max_ncpus>1</max_ncpus>
    <flops>1.0e11</flops>
    <coproc>
    <type>ATI</type>
    <count>1</count>
    </coproc>
    <cmdline></cmdline>
    <file_ref>
    <file_name>primegrid_tpsieve_1.35_windows_intelx86__ati13ati.exe</file_name>
    <main_program/>
    </file_ref>
    </app_version>
    </app_info>
    6. Make sure your PG preferences allow ATI WUs to be downloaded.
    7. Restart BOINC.

    Should work...

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Maxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 25th, 2010
    Location
    Everett, WA
    Posts
    3,300

    Re: Getting the PPSieve WUs to run on ATI cards

    A couple have validated now...

    1800 credits each. ~1800s on the 5970 at 725MHz, ~1300s at 850MHz.

  3. #3
    Past Administrator
    Fire$torm's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 13th, 2010
    Location
    In the Big City
    Posts
    7,938

    Re: Getting the PPSieve WUs to run on ATI cards

    Thank you Maxwell for the info.

    Now just need work as PG's server tells me.....
    11/24/2010 4:10:25 AM PrimeGrid Requesting new tasks for GPU
    11/24/2010 4:10:50 AM PrimeGrid Scheduler request completed: got 0 new tasks
    11/24/2010 4:10:50 AM PrimeGrid Message from server: No work sent
    11/24/2010 4:10:50 AM PrimeGrid Message from server: No work is available for Proth Prime Search (Sieve)
    11/24/2010 4:10:50 AM PrimeGrid Message from server: _("No work available for the applications you have selected. Please check your project preferences on the web site.")


    Future Maker? Teensy 3.6

  4. #4
    Past Admin
    Beerdrinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 25th, 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,322

    Re: Getting the PPSieve WUs to run on ATI cards

    Ok. Got this to work also.

    After doing the above steps, I instantly got 21 GPU tasks.

    So I am back on my fav. project...PG....
    Proud member of SETI.USA since 28īth December 2005.

    Joined old MB Dec. 28th 2005 - 5837 posts

  5. #5
    Platinum Member
    Maxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 25th, 2010
    Location
    Everett, WA
    Posts
    3,300

    Re: Getting the PPSieve WUs to run on ATI cards

    Quote Originally Posted by Fire$torm View Post
    Now just need work as PG's server tells me.....
    I haven't had trouble getting work since I got the ATI app... BOINC is reading the app_info file, yes? And you have ATI work selected on the PG site, right? (Forehead-smack questions first... )

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    trigggl's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 6th, 2010
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    2,077

    Re: Getting the PPSieve WUs to run on ATI cards

    Whoops! Redundant post. Nothing to see here. Move along.
    6r39 7r199



  7. #7
    Past Administrator
    Fire$torm's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 13th, 2010
    Location
    In the Big City
    Posts
    7,938

    Re: Getting the PPSieve WUs to run on ATI cards

    Quote Originally Posted by trigggl View Post
    Whoops! Redundant post. Nothing to see here. Move along.
    These aren't the droids your looking for.........


    Future Maker? Teensy 3.6

  8. #8
    Past Administrator
    Fire$torm's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 13th, 2010
    Location
    In the Big City
    Posts
    7,938

    Re: Getting the PPSieve WUs to run on ATI cards

    Question: Has anyone tried running two wu's concurrently like you can with MW?


    Future Maker? Teensy 3.6

  9. #9
    Platinum Member
    Maxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 25th, 2010
    Location
    Everett, WA
    Posts
    3,300

    Re: Getting the PPSieve WUs to run on ATI cards

    Quote Originally Posted by Fire$torm View Post
    Question: Has anyone tried running two wu's concurrently like you can with MW?
    I haven't, but people have. It's not too useful because the WUs are much longer. If you're interested, change "count" to .5 in the app_info file above...

  10. #10
    Past Administrator
    Fire$torm's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 13th, 2010
    Location
    In the Big City
    Posts
    7,938

    Re: Getting the PPSieve WUs to run on ATI cards

    Quote Originally Posted by Maxwell View Post
    I haven't, but people have. It's not too useful because the WUs are much longer. If you're interested, change "count" to .5 in the app_info file above...
    Yeah, I did that about ten minutes after I posted the question. so far no "crash n' burn" I did notice that one wu crunches slower than the other but any increase in production is good!
    BTW: My two nVidia cards cranked out more credits than the rest of my mini farm combined. Yes, yes, I know. Apples n' Oranges......


    Future Maker? Teensy 3.6

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •