Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Yafu and Prima

  1. #1
    Platinum Member
    Crazybob's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 25th, 2010
    Location
    Preparing for the flakes!
    Posts
    2,529

    Yafu and Prima

    Came in this morning and while checking some boxes remotely, noticed when I went back to my main machine, Prima was running on 1 core. Since it's an I7, I looked to see what else might be running. Only FreeHal and Wuprop. Thought maybe that Prima went the way of others and was using all 8 cores for 1 WU. Check a Dual core and it was running 2. Went back and checked preferences. Everything looked good. Ran CPU-Z and it said I had 1 core and 1 thread. Did a reboot and everything went back to normal running 8 Prima WU's. Not sure wtf was going on. Only thing I can think of was some relationship between what Yafu was using before it went back to Prima. Any thoughts? Don't want to see that again.

    Joined Original Message Board: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:47 pm, Currently with 11298 Posts

    If it ain't crunch'n, unplug it!

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    zombie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 24th, 2010
    Location
    Dublin, CA
    Posts
    5,760

    Re: Yafu and Prima

    MT tasks want to use all available cores. Let's say you are running 8 individual tasks, and BOINC wants to switch to an MT task. BOINC will let each of the individual tasks complete, and not start any more. So BOINC will be running 8, then 7, then 6....then 1. Once all 8 individual tasks are complete, it will start the MT task. So during the run-down period, you will have idle cores.
    A state where police work is easy, is also known as a police state.


    Avatar source
    Twitter: @zombie_67



  3. #3
    Platinum Member
    Crazybob's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 25th, 2010
    Location
    Preparing for the flakes!
    Posts
    2,529

    Re: Yafu and Prima

    That very well could have been the case. Was just a little shocked to so many cores idle and have CPU-Z say that it was a 1 core machine.

    Joined Original Message Board: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:47 pm, Currently with 11298 Posts

    If it ain't crunch'n, unplug it!

  4. #4
    Past Administrator
    Fire$torm's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 13th, 2010
    Location
    In the Big City
    Posts
    7,902

    Re: Yafu and Prima

    Quote Originally Posted by Crazybob View Post
    That very well could have been the case. Was just a little shocked to so many cores idle and have CPU-Z say that it was a 1 core machine.
    Yafu would not affect CPU-Z, at least not directly. It sounds like a hardware issue since (IIRC) CPU-Z reads the hardware, including CPU, directly. It uses some polling technique to grab hardware IDs and such. So CPU-Z calling a quad-care something else would indicate a problem with the hardware. Maybe something is overheating or being under-volted.

    I would suggest a visual inspection of that system, clean out any dust and physically reseat all cards and connectors. Then power up and look for anything that is not working like it should. Also inspect any diagnostic LEDs/displays and check them against the trouble-codes listed in your user manual. If all is well then consider running Prime95 for an hour or so. It is used to stress test CPU and RAM, and does it very well. If P95 detects any serious errors it will automatically shut down the test. One other test to run is memtest86+ which is included in your Win7 install disk or can be booted from a USB thumb drive.

    Forgot to add that before you run P95 consider resetting BIOS to factory defaults and maybe backup your BIOS if your system has that feature.

    If all that checks out okay then I would suggest running all the usual maintenance utilities like Malwarebytes, anti-virus, disk defrag, CCleaner, and if you have it, run a registry defrag.


    Future Maker? Teensy 3.6

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •