Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: GPU Crunching question

  1. #1
    lazyshopper
    Guest

    GPU Crunching question

    I just bought 3 video cards & want to use 2 for crunching SETI. They are 1: GEForce GTX 650 2GB GDDR5 2: GEForce GTX 750 TI 2GB GDDR% Overclocked 3: GTX 280 1 GB GDDR3

    What order should I implement these cards into my machines? I also have a Radeon HD6870 1 GB GDDR to throw in the mix. Any ideas? I guess I will add these to 3 of my machines & the bottom feeder is promised to someone else. I want to get the most bang for my buck. I will put these into 1 intel quad core machine & 2 AMD quad core machines. They may not be the best machine to crunch with but better than nothing.

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Maxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 25th, 2010
    Location
    Everett, WA
    Posts
    3,300

    Re: GPU Crunching question

    I would keep the AMD and the NVidia cards in separate machines. Though it's possible to run both together, it's much easier to keep them in separate machines.

    The GTX 280 is an older card, right? If you're going to avoid crunching on one of them, that would be the one. Otherwise, I'd stick one of each into the boxes. Doesn't really matter which card goes into which box for the most part.

    For SETI, you'll want to run multiple WUs on each card, and probably reserve a full thread for GPU crunching (we can give more details on this later). Latest NVidia drivers. There is also an optimized package for SETI that would be great to install (can someone dig up the link?).

    Keep asking questions. We're happy to help.

  3. #3
    lazyshopper
    Guest

    Re: GPU Crunching question

    Great. Between the GTX 280 & the HD 6870 which would you choose? I am totally novice to the world of GPU crunching. I also have one machine with a Zotac GT 630 & a Radeon HD 6870 installed but seti is only doing 1 WU at a time on the 4 cores & the HD 6870 card isn't being used at all from what I can see but I wouldn't know how to tell unless it bit me.

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Maxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 25th, 2010
    Location
    Everett, WA
    Posts
    3,300

    Re: GPU Crunching question

    So, to get both cards crunching, you'll want to add a "use_all_gpus" tag to your cc_config.xml file. Check out this to get an idea of what I'm talking about: http://www.setiusa.us/faq.php?faq=manage#faq_manage4

    I'd dig up more, but I'm still at work. I'll try and get back to this tonight, unless others want to jump in.

  5. #5
    lazyshopper
    Guest

    Re: GPU Crunching question

    I added this -

    <cc_config>
    <log_flags>
    [ ... ]
    </log_flags>
    <options>
    [ ... ]
    </options>
    </cc_config>

    <cc_config>
    <options>
    <use_all_gpus>
    </options>
    </cc_config>

    I also got this message after adding the config

    10/29/2014 6:27:50 PM | | Unexpected text in cc_config.xml: [ ... ]
    10/29/2014 6:27:50 PM | | Not using a proxy
    10/29/2014 6:27:50 PM | | log flags: file_xfer, sched_ops, task
    10/29/2014 6:27:56 PM | | Re-reading cc_config.xml
    Last edited by lazyshopper; 10-29-14 at 06:40 PM.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    6,669

    Re: GPU Crunching question

    <cc_config>
    <options>
    <report_results_immediately>1 </report_results_immediately>
    <use_all_gpus>
    </options>
    </cc_config>

    Just use the above and you should be golden.



  7. #7
    Platinum Member
    John P. Myers's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2011
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    4,502

    Re: GPU Crunching question

    Doesn't it need to be <use_all__gpus>1</use_all_gpus> or has something changed?

    Sent from my Galaxy S4 using Tapatalk Pro


  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    zombie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 24th, 2010
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    7,294

    Re: GPU Crunching question

    D'oh! Yeah, I was so busy looking at the syntax, I missed the content.

    http://boinc.berkeley.edu/wiki/Client_configuration

    <cc_config>
    <options>
    <use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
    </options>
    </cc_config>
    "Don't confront me with my failures, I had not forgotten them" - Jackson Browne

    Avatar source


  9. #9
    Administrator
    Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    6,669

    Re: GPU Crunching question

    Quote Originally Posted by zombie67 View Post
    D'oh! Yeah, I was so busy looking at the syntax, I missed the content.

    http://boinc.berkeley.edu/wiki/Client_configuration

    <cc_config>
    <options>
    <use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
    </options>
    </cc_config>
    Whoops, me too.



  10. #10
    lazyshopper
    Guest

    Re: GPU Crunching question

    Thanks for all the help. I got everything updated & didn't get any errors. Now, I will sit back & see what it does.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •