Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: BoincTasks Problem

  1. #1
    Administrator
    Sphynx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    4,748

    BoincTasks Problem

    Any BT gurus have any idea on what is causing this problem? I run BTs on my personal computer to monitor and adjust all my computers and it has worked great up until the last week or so. I can do most everything I need, except detach from a project, reset a project or abort a wu. If I do any of those 3 the command will not be issued and it locks BTs up solid. I have to use Task Manager to shut it down and then restart. It works fine after the restart until I forget and try to do any of those 3 things. It's quite aggravating. It is the latest version (not the beta) and I've had it installed for months. Win 7 OS. I really haven't changed a thing prior to this happening, but something obviously changed. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Bryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 27th, 2010
    Location
    CO summer, TX winter
    Posts
    5,132

    Re: BoincTasks Problem

    Is when you try to do that on a Windows machine, Linux, or either one?


  3. #3
    Silver Member
    nanoprobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 27th, 2012
    Location
    Classified
    Posts
    791

    Re: BoincTasks Problem

    Install any Win7 updates in the last week?



    You'll never know what you're living for until you know what you're willing to die for.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Sphynx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    4,748

    Re: BoincTasks Problem

    When I do them on any os and I have not updated win 7 in months.

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    nanoprobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 27th, 2012
    Location
    Classified
    Posts
    791

    Re: BoincTasks Problem

    OK. Always here of windoze updates borking stuff.



    You'll never know what you're living for until you know what you're willing to die for.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Sphynx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    4,748

    Re: BoincTasks Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by nanoprobe View Post
    OK. Always here of windoze updates borking stuff.
    Nope, not an update. It's strange...try to abort a task and the next time you click anywhere on a BTS screen you get a Windows error ding.

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    nanoprobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 27th, 2012
    Location
    Classified
    Posts
    791

    Re: BoincTasks Problem

    Could your BT install have somehow been corrupted. Maybe an remove/reinstall might fix it.



    You'll never know what you're living for until you know what you're willing to die for.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Sphynx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    4,748

    Re: BoincTasks Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by nanoprobe View Post
    Could your BT install have somehow been corrupted. Maybe an remove/reinstall might fix it.
    Well, I did do a reinstall while still having it installed, thinking it might fix any corrupted files...it didnt. I was actually trying to avoid resetting/reattaching everything, but it might come to that anyway.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •