Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Collatz hanging...

  1. #1
    Administrator
    STMahlberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 1st, 2010
    Location
    AREA 51
    Posts
    1,533

    Collatz hanging...

    I've been running Collatz on my 3 HD5870's and as of yesterday they started hanging up. It will run all out then suddenly stop. All previous WU's will be done and reported but I see 180 WU's "Ready to Start" with nothing else happening. It's the only GPU project that I have on this rig. I don't get it.

    I had an issue with Milkyway as well... all 3 GPUs would be working then only 1 would work; however, I ignored the issue and moved to Collatz for the increased credits.

    Has anyone else experienced this problem?
    Last edited by STMahlberg; 06-25-16 at 09:16 PM.
    "My god! Do we really suck, or is this guy really that good?" - Mr Hertz - Shoot 'Em Up






  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    zombie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 24th, 2010
    Location
    Dublin, CA
    Posts
    5,761

    Re: Collatz hanging...

    Just FYI, can't read yellow text with the default background. I know it looks vivid against the alternate black. But not everyone runs that.
    A state where police work is easy, is also known as a police state.


    Avatar source
    Twitter: @zombie_67



  3. #3
    Administrator
    Sphynx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    4,748

    Re: Collatz hanging...

    Try suspending all cpu work on that machine and see if the gpus restart.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    STMahlberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 1st, 2010
    Location
    AREA 51
    Posts
    1,533

    Re: Collatz hanging...

    Quote Originally Posted by zombie67 View Post
    Just FYI, can't read yellow text with the default background. I know it looks vivid against the alternate black. But not everyone runs that.
    Sorry. Default background is hard on my eye.
    "My god! Do we really suck, or is this guy really that good?" - Mr Hertz - Shoot 'Em Up






  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Shandia's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 8th, 2014
    Location
    Addison, Texas
    Posts
    879

    Re: Collatz hanging...

    Are you using the newest Boinc? It's super touchy. Anything it sees using opencl Boinc will drop the gpu like a hot plate. I can't connect to my remote systems with remote desktop like I usually do for this reason. Any time I do, I'm forced to restart the system instead of logging out and have to hope for the best.




  6. #6
    Administrator
    STMahlberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 1st, 2010
    Location
    AREA 51
    Posts
    1,533

    Re: Collatz hanging...

    Quote Originally Posted by Shandia View Post
    Are you using the newest Boinc? It's super touchy. Anything it sees using opencl Boinc will drop the gpu like a hot plate. I can't connect to my remote systems with remote desktop like I usually do for this reason. Any time I do, I'm forced to restart the system instead of logging out and have to hope for the best.
    Yes I am. I haven't had any issues with connecting to my other rigs though.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sphynx View Post
    Try suspending all cpu work on that machine and see if the gpus restart.
    I will try that. Thanks.
    "My god! Do we really suck, or is this guy really that good?" - Mr Hertz - Shoot 'Em Up






Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •