Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 39 of 39

Thread: Dual hexcore Z600's

  1. #31
    Diamond Member
    zombie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 24th, 2010
    Location
    Dublin, CA
    Posts
    5,760

    Re: Dual hexcore Z600's

    Yep. Heavy as a hippo! But I like it. Very quiet! Plenty of room for a 7970. Two six pin connectors, but only one 8 pin. So a 2nd gpu would be a problem. But no plans for two. 👍
    A state where police work is easy, is also known as a police state.


    Avatar source
    Twitter: @zombie_67



  2. #32
    Silver Member
    Haunted Forest's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 23rd, 2014
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    274

    Re: Dual hexcore Z600's

    Quote Originally Posted by zombie67 View Post
    Yep. Heavy as a hippo! But I like it. Very quiet! Plenty of room for a 7970. Two six pin connectors, but only one 8 pin. So a 2nd gpu would be a problem. But no plans for two. 👍
    If you are talking about a t7500, watch out for the 8 pin, might be for a second cpu riser card. NOT GPU power!!

    HF

  3. #33
    Diamond Member
    zombie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 24th, 2010
    Location
    Dublin, CA
    Posts
    5,760

    Re: Dual hexcore Z600's

    Quote Originally Posted by Haunted Forest View Post
    If you are talking about a t7500, watch out for the 8 pin, might be for a second cpu riser card. NOT GPU power!!

    HF
    That is what I thought at first too. But think not for three reasons:

    1) What would it be used for? There is no second CPU power connector on the mobo. Seems odd that Dell would have a custom PSU with a CPU connector that is unusable. This is Dell, after all.

    2) I believe the plastic connector molding keying is slightly different, so that you cannot connect an 8-pin CPU to an 8-pin PCIe. I don't have any laying around to verify.

    3) The GPU is running fine now. Surely it would have shorted out, assuming it would run at all, if it was a CPU connector.

    Anyway, I am not going to sweat it so long as it keeps working.
    A state where police work is easy, is also known as a police state.


    Avatar source
    Twitter: @zombie_67



  4. #34
    Platinum Member
    Mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 28th, 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    3,259

    Re: Dual hexcore Z600's

    You are correct zombie67, the keying on the CPU 8-pin is indeed different than that of a PCIe 8-pin, so you can't plug one in to the other by mistake.

  5. #35
    Diamond Member
    zombie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 24th, 2010
    Location
    Dublin, CA
    Posts
    5,760

    Re: Dual hexcore Z600's

    The next gen of referbs are offered by the same company. T5600 and T7600. Just about the same price, but with better (Sandy Bridge) 8 core CPUs. I just bought this:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-Precisi...wAAOSw8gVX5XL2
    A state where police work is easy, is also known as a police state.


    Avatar source
    Twitter: @zombie_67



  6. #36
    Silver Member
    MindCrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 26th, 2014
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    686

    Re: Dual hexcore Z600's

    Quote Originally Posted by zombie67 View Post
    The next gen of referbs are offered by the same company. T5600 and T7600. Just about the same price, but with better (Sandy Bridge) 8 core CPUs. I just bought this:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-Precisi...wAAOSw8gVX5XL2
    And on the HP side of the game you're looking at the following models for the next gen of refurbs:

    z220 (z230s aren't that much more) =t1600
    z420 (heh 420) =t3600
    z620 =t5600 (dual sockets start here)
    z820 =t7600

  7. #37
    Ambassador from TSBT scole of TSBT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 8th, 2015
    Location
    Goldsboro, NC
    Posts
    638

    Re: Dual hexcore Z600's

    Does anyone have a T5600 or Z620 that could offer any advice or FYI about them? One thing I noticed is on the Z600, a 2nd CPU only required another heatsink/fan while the T5500 required a riser card. Now the Z620 requires a riser for a 2nd CPU but the T5600 doesn't. Am I seeing that correctly?

  8. #38
    Administrator
    Bryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 27th, 2010
    Location
    CO summer, TX winter
    Posts
    5,121

    Re: Dual hexcore Z600's

    Quote Originally Posted by scole of TSBT View Post
    Does anyone have a T5600 or Z620 that could offer any advice or FYI about them? One thing I noticed is on the Z600, a 2nd CPU only required another heatsink/fan while the T5500 required a riser card. Now the Z620 requires a riser for a 2nd CPU but the T5600 doesn't. Am I seeing that correctly?

    PM Z Steve, he just bought one.


  9. #39
    Silver Member
    MindCrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 26th, 2014
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    686

    Re: Dual hexcore Z600's

    Quote Originally Posted by scole of TSBT View Post
    Does anyone have a T5600 or Z620 that could offer any advice or FYI about them? One thing I noticed is on the Z600, a 2nd CPU only required another heatsink/fan while the T5500 required a riser card. Now the Z620 requires a riser for a 2nd CPU but the T5600 doesn't. Am I seeing that correctly?
    Looks to be correct. T5600 dual socket motherboard, z620 has a single socket mobo + riser card with 2nd cpu socket.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •