Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: HELP with BOINC/YOYO

  1. #1
    Administrator
    Bryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 27th, 2010
    Location
    CO summer, TX winter
    Posts
    5,126

    HELP with BOINC/YOYO

    Here's the problem: sometime last night (early morning) the Yoyo project went down. When I got up this morning I couldn't get to Yoyo with a browser. I had 9 crunchers running Yoyo prior to that time and turning in work ... daily stats proves that. Of course while the project was down I couldn't upload finished work or get new work.

    All nine Windows crunchers will NOT contact the project either to update or upload. I have 3000+ WU ready to turn in. Any of the machines can contact Yoyo's website using a browser. I moved a machine to Linux and I was able to get work and turn it in.

    I have stopped/started BOINC, rebooted the computer, reset the modem/router all to no avail.

    The BOINC client will launch the browser and take me to the main Yoyo page, my account, or the forums. It just won't contact the project with an update or upload.

    The upload URL is correct in the client_state file.

    So quite frankly I'm at a loss ... 9 machines doing the same thing. Yes, network communications is enabled on all machines They will contact other projects when update is clicked.

    Does anyone have any ideas. I really really don't want to have to detach and reattach to the project.


  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 28th, 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    3,259

    Re: HELP with BOINC/YOYO

    Anything insightful if you add the following to your cc_config on one of those systems?

    <log_flags>
    <http_debug>1</http_debug>
    </log_flags>

  3. #3
    Platinum Member
    Mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 28th, 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    3,259

    Re: HELP with BOINC/YOYO

    Another thought. Go to the Transfers tab. Could it be the file transfers are in Backoff and need a tickle instead of a simple project Update? If there are files listed there that show the Upload Retry is in Backoff mode, selecting them and hitting "Retry Now" may shake something loose.
    Last edited by Mumps; 08-31-16 at 11:05 PM.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Bryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 27th, 2010
    Location
    CO summer, TX winter
    Posts
    5,126

    Re: HELP with BOINC/YOYO

    Quote Originally Posted by Mumps View Post
    Another thought. Go to the Transfers tab. Could it be the file transfers are in Backoff and need a tickle instead of a simple project Update? If there are files listed there that show the Upload Retry is in Backoff mode, selecting them and hitting "Retry Now" may shake something loose.
    I've done that one umpteen times without success. I've never had that fail but now it tries for X number of seconds and then goes back to the backoff mode.

    I'll turn on the debug and see if anything shows up.


  5. #5
    Administrator
    Bryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 27th, 2010
    Location
    CO summer, TX winter
    Posts
    5,126

    Re: HELP with BOINC/YOYO

    It mainly shows it can't connect to the project but doesn't say why. It is using the correct URL for upload.



    [fxd] starting upload, upload_offset 0
    Started upload of ecm_xy_1472611370_C192_139_81_970_0_0
    [file_xfer] URL: http://www.rechenkraft.net/yoyo_cgi/file_upload_handler
    [network_status] status: online
    [network_status] got HTTP error - checking ref site
    [network_status] status: reference site lookup pending
    [file_xfer] http op done; retval -107 (connect() failed)
    [file_xfer] file transfer status -107 (connect() failed)

    Then it comes up and says project maybe temporarily down but internet refernce site is okay.

    So I have no idea what the http error is.


  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 28th, 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    3,259

    Re: HELP with BOINC/YOYO

    Peek at this thread..

    https://boinc.berkeley.edu/dev/forum...d.php?id=10869

    I'd say, maybe try some of the below options:

    <http_1_0>1</http_1_0>

    <max_file_xfers>2</max_file_xfers>
    <max_file_xfers_per_project>1</max_file_xfers_per_project>

    <http_transfer_timeout>20</http_transfer_timeout>
    <http_transfer_timeout_bps>10</http_transfer_timeout_bps>

    <file_xfer_debug>1</file_xfer_debug>
    <http_debug>1</http_debug>
    <http_xfer_debug>1</http_xfer_debug>

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    zombie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 24th, 2010
    Location
    Dublin, CA
    Posts
    5,760

    Re: HELP with BOINC/YOYO

    Yeah, many BOINC servers are easily overwhelmed when trying to upload/report too many tasks at a time.

    I think my default cc_config.xml has an entry in there to limit it to 20.
    A state where police work is easy, is also known as a police state.


    Avatar source
    Twitter: @zombie_67



  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 28th, 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    3,259

    Re: HELP with BOINC/YOYO

    Hopefully Bryan will post again with some of the stuff we tried last night while on TeamSpeak. Weirdest thing is that the Windows host can't communicate with YoYo, but other projects are fine. And a Linux Guest running under VirtualBox on that same host has no problems. While even a Windows guest on the host fails the same way. Hopefully Bryan will get some logs to post that may help in understanding the network traffic that's going on.

    We've gotten past the max file transfers thought because he can't even contact the project servers to add YoYo as a project on a Windows host on his network. Even though a Linux Guest on the same Laptop can do so successfully. Just extremely bizarre.

    Hopefully he remembers my suggestion to see if he can add it on his laptop if he takes it to Starbucks. (Sometimes all it takes is coffee!)

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Bryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 27th, 2010
    Location
    CO summer, TX winter
    Posts
    5,126

    Re: HELP with BOINC/YOYO

    Basically it gets down to 9 machines were running Yoyo ECM without problems when their server crashed. Since then no Windows machine can upload work. A clean BOINC install on one of the machines could not attach to Yoyo (says project unavailable). Bring up a Win7 VM on that machine and it will not attach. Bring up a Linux VM - no problem attaching, crunching, uploading. Bring up a different Linux VM and no problem. On other machines switching them to native Linux -- no problems. So it is a case that no Windows machine works but anything Linux has no problem. BTW, on any Windows machine the browser can get to the Yoyo website AND to the upload server URL.

    The modem/router has been reset multiple times. All connections (wired and WiFi) except the 1 machine were disconnected.

    @Mumps, I'll try to get to Starbucks this afternoon

    Also, I have no idea which Windows Event log to look at. There are a gazillion shown in the Event viewer and none of them are flagged as being a problem.


  10. #10
    Administrator
    Bryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 27th, 2010
    Location
    CO summer, TX winter
    Posts
    5,126

    Re: HELP with BOINC/YOYO

    @Mumps, I don't know if the laptop would work at Starbucks but it did work at McDonald's It had no problem and immediately communicated with the project. So I came home and tied it into the network via WiFi and dang if it didn't contact Yoyo and would have attached. I still had 1 machine running Windows so I tried to upload the completed WU and BINGO, uploaded and then reported.

    I switched each machine (1 at a time) back to Windows and uploaded everything. I got about 170k out of it.

    I have absolutely no idea what the problem was/is. I had tried to upload earlier this morning and it wouldn't work. I had tried to attach the laptop and it wouldn't work. I think McDonald's WiFi put some magic into the laptop and then I brought it home. It's gotta be that!!

    Anyway, I'm up and running but crunching Cosmo ... I can be in for the kill on LAF and CNT on that one instead

    Thanks everyone for lending a hand with this very perplexing problem!!!!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •