PDA

View Full Version : 570: How hot is too hot?

Maxwell
04-13-11, 12:02 AM
Since I'm impatient, I got myself a 570 to replace the 5970s while they are being RMA'ed. However, I'm a relative CUDA novice. That said, how high can I push the overclock on this card and remain 24/7 stable on a non-gaming rig that is NOT a dedicated crunchher?

Stock clocks for Core/Shader are 780/1560 (shader locked at 2x core clock). I'm currently running at 850/1700 at 65C. Using MSI Afterburner to overclock and monitor temps and whatnot. So how high can I push this without running into issues?

joker
04-13-11, 01:25 AM
Just a guess with my limited experience, but if you have good cooling (probably have to turn the fan up to 100%) I would wager that you could push it to 900MHz once you up the voltage. I got my GTX 470 OC'ed from 607 MHz to 810MHz with fan at 100% running at 66C. As I said, just a guess.

John P. Myers
04-13-11, 02:31 PM
900? pfft. this is Nvidia. if stock is 780, aim for 975, as long as your case can keep it under 85C you'll be fine, although the chips are rated at 105C, there's surely gotta be a degree of life-shortening by approaching that.

joker
04-14-11, 07:53 PM
Fine JPM, I will bite! Ok, so bumped up the clock speed to 853.4 and upped my voltage to 1.0750 and things seem to be running stable for the last hour. Temp at 73C. Update Max??

DrPop
04-14-11, 07:59 PM
Joker, which program are you using to volt mod the GTX 465? I should try doing that to mine. How much fan are you running to hit that 73 temp?

joker
04-14-11, 08:06 PM
Joker, which program are you using to volt mod the GTX 465? I should try doing that to mine. How much fan are you running to hit that 73 temp?

Just MSI Afterburner with fan running at 100%.

YoDude9999
04-14-11, 11:00 PM
I've been running 3x9800GTSCs in my Rodan system for a couple years now.
They get the usual dust bunnies built up in the heatsinks and of course every now and then, I have to clean them out so they can breath again.