PDA

View Full Version : 32 bit VS 64 bit

joker
04-13-11, 07:45 PM
I have been running XP 32 bit for many years now, I am getting a 64 bit OS right now so I am curious as to how big of a difference there is between a 32 bit OS VS a 64 bit OS when it comes to CPU crunching?

Dandasarge
04-13-11, 07:58 PM
Capt. Ovious just told me it depends on what prodject.

Some prodjects none some as much as 20%

DrPop
04-13-11, 08:00 PM
With AQUA and (a project formerly known as) AndrOINC, the 64bit "bonus" was quite a bit. I can't say about any other projects - some of the MMers that crunch a bunch of the other ones might be able to.???

joker
04-13-11, 09:11 PM
Capt. Ovious just told me it depends on what prodject.

Do you have his PM address?? :-)

John P. Myers
04-14-11, 08:37 PM
If the project has a 64bit app and it's coded to properly make use of this, which most are, the speed bonus is usually as much as 70%.

joker
04-14-11, 08:52 PM
This may be a stupid question but, would the OS make any difference for GPU crunching?

JerWA
04-14-11, 09:22 PM
OS probably matters. 32 bit vs 64 bit driver.

joker
04-14-11, 09:28 PM
OS probably matters. 32 bit vs 64 bit driver.

So I will get better crunching out of my GPU with a 64 bit OS? Just trying to be clear.

DrPop
04-15-11, 01:24 AM
So I will get better crunching out of my GPU with a 64 bit OS? Just trying to be clear.

Hmmm...that is a good question. I believe if the project used a lot of memory, then yes, because of the increased ability in that direction with the 64bit OS. Otherwise I'm not sure. I would think they could build some advances into the 64bit drivers, but who knows if they have implemented any?

joker
04-15-11, 02:08 AM
i JUST want to know. :p

JerWA
04-15-11, 03:12 AM
I dunno, I don't run any 32 bit OS. 2 GB? 3 GB with a BIOS hack? Pfeh, need more RAM than that. :P

One of the GPU app guys could tell you. Slicker, or the guy that runs Collatz?

Steve Bohlen
04-23-11, 10:35 PM