PDA

View Full Version : 2 gpu problems



MindCrime
03-20-21, 06:25 PM
cross posting this here from https://srbase.my-firewall.org/sr5/forum_thread.php?id=1561#7446

"I have been successfully crunching milkyway, einstein, collatz.. on a dual HD 7970 machine.

I just got some TF wus, it starts 2, it says one is on device 0 and the other device 1 but only one of the cards has a load on it. the other is idle.

I recently updated my driver so to confirm it wasn't that I suspended SRbase and ran some einstein and both cards are utilized.

The 2 WUs completed successfully, the estimated time, ~1600 seconds, was significantly longer than the actual run time 753 seconds and 758 seconds

As the einstein finished on one card SRbase started 1 wu on that card. That one finished in 250 seconds. I watched the other einstein finish (dev 1), and SRbase did not start a WU on that card. While dev 1 is idle SRbase on dev0 finished, and started another solo.

Im sure someone has tackled this before, I just need someone to point me to the fix."

MindCrime
03-20-21, 07:39 PM
Not too concerned about this, as the 7970s don't look very efficient on SRbase TF.

Al
03-20-21, 08:48 PM
I don't believe yoyo supports 2 gpus, sort of like Poem used to be.

Edit: Sorry, SRBase

MindCrime
03-20-21, 08:52 PM
This is SRbase but you might still be right. I've moved everything to einstein to push for 100m

zombie67
03-20-21, 09:59 PM
SRbase supports only a single GPU. You will need to edit your cc_config.xml to ignore one of the GPUs for that project. Instructions here:

https://srbase.my-firewall.org/sr5/forum_thread.php?id=6&postid=5765#5765

scole of TSBT
03-21-21, 08:53 PM
I'm not sure about now but SRbase TF previously only ran on GPU 0. If you had more than 1 GPU, you had to setup multiple clients and use app_config.xml files to control which GPU it used

Client A running TF on GPU 0


<app_config>
<app>
<name>TF</name>
<max_concurrent>1</max_concurrent>
</app>
<app_version>
<app_name>TF</app_name>
<plan_class>cuda100</plan_class>
<cmdline>-d 0</cmdline>
</app_version>
</app_config>


Client B running TF on GPU 1


<app_config>
<app>
<name>TF</name>
<max_concurrent>1</max_concurrent>
</app>
<app_version>
<app_name>TF</app_name>
<plan_class>cuda100</plan_class>
<cmdline>-d 1</cmdline>
</app_version>
</app_config>