PDA

View Full Version : Downtime...

STMahlberg
11-14-10, 12:57 PM
Yesterday was a very frustrating day for me at the big pink house. I kept losing power to my entertainment system and most of my rigs that I have plugged in down the hall; the strange thing was that it kept coming back on but this issue was not effecting the entire house.

So I wander out into the common area of the house and happen to run into one of the other renters. Kevin says he lost power also, so I check the breakers and one won't reset and it feels as if the thing is going to burst into flames.

Leaving it off I wait till morning when the owner is usually working on something here; I tell him about the issue, so he starts checking all of the other panels that this house has, it's 12,000 sq ft by the way. So I following him to see if there is another issue.

Now, I'm not a certified electrician but I have 26 years of on and off electrical experience with Massive Dynamics along with having owned 3 homes, 2 of which I remodeled myself. John, the owner, starts showing me everything this breaker controls: half of my area I rent, part of Kevin's, the secret room, ceiling lighting in 3 rooms an I think a couple of street lights.

Granted, it's been a while since I browsed the old National Electric Code book but if I recall, you're not suppose to have more than 6 receptacles on a 20 amp breaker.

I have reluctantly turned my rigs back on but I think I will be monitoring this breaker closely as I am afraid this thing is going to burn the house down.

I have been planning on buying a house after the first of the year but now I'm thinking I should move sooner.

Maxwell
11-14-10, 08:05 PM
Wow... just wow. You should have punched the owner in the nuts.

DrPop
11-14-10, 09:50 PM
Hahaha...either that or replaced it with a 30AMP and PURCHASE HUGE RENTER INSURANCE POLICY! :D

STMahlberg
11-15-10, 02:37 AM
Just checked the breaker this morning and it seems to be fine. *crosses fingers*