PDA

View Full Version : Family Recipes.

Mike029
08-26-12, 05:39 PM
I Like to cook. Well, eat more than cook but cooking is fun too. :p Now I'm no professional chef so understand I never measure my ingredients. I do it old style, a little of this and a little of that. A pinch of this, well you get the point. :cool:

I'll start off with an easy one here. Sausage & Peppers. Just made this last night. Very easy almost can't mess it up. ;) I cook for four+. The plus is so I can have leftovers. \m/
Here is what you'll need.

3-lbs of sweet or hot Italian style sausage. (I prefer Sweet)
One large onion. Sweet or Spanish (Yellow)
3-lbs of bell Peppers. I buy red, yellow and Orange. Green is ok and cheapest. I like the red best.
4 garlic cloves.

Wash the veggies thoroughly.
Clean out the center of the peppers and throw it away. (Seeds, etc) Slice the peppers into 2 or 3 inch strips.
Slice the onion into half-moon slices.
four cloves of garlic sliced thin.

Place the peppers, garlic and onions into a large roasting pan and place into the oven at 400 degrees. Cooking the oven about 30 to 40 mins. mixing the peppers every 15 mins.

In a large skillet or frying pan add two tablespoonful of olive oil at medium heat. When the oil is hot add the sausage and brown on all sides. If the sausage starts to split then lower the heat. Remember to prick sausages all over with fork while the sausage is cooking.

When all sides of the sausage are brown, remove the sausage and slice as desired or place into roasting pot whole. I cut my sausage into half inch thick slices. Add to the roasting pot in the oven and stir. Reduce heat to 375 degrees and cook for about 45 mins to an hour mixing the sausage and peppers ever 15 mins. or so. I like the sausage to brown and the Peppers to soften.

Remove from oven and eat as a dish or add it to a roll or whatever bread you like and eat as a sandwich.