PDA

View Full Version : Which Haswell Quad core?

Beerdrinker
10-22-13, 12:37 PM
Hey team.

Migth have a shot at a Asus Maximus VI Extreme board. ( I will know within 3 days)

I have a Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo, does that fit that socket?

But the big question is: Which Haswell Quad-core CPU will give best bang for the buck? (have been running AMD for the last 4 years)

Any advice appreciated.

DrPop
10-22-13, 01:33 PM
Do you like to overclock or will you run it stock speeds? Answer changes based on that. ;)

Beerdrinker
10-22-13, 01:38 PM
Probably stock speed. Havenīt done much OC, and havenīt got time to play around.

Fire$torm
10-22-13, 01:53 PM
Yep, that 212 Evo will fit. Note that only the i7-47xx have Hyper-threading support, and all cost about the same. So might as well spend the extra $30 bucks for the K version (unlocked multiplier).

For non-HT Haswell, I'd say the i5-4670K is your best bet.

Beerdrinker
10-31-13, 04:31 PM
Yep, that 212 Evo will fit. Note that only the i7-47xx have Hyper-threading support, and all cost about the same. So might as well spend the extra $30 bucks for the K version (unlocked multiplier).

For non-HT Haswell, I'd say the i5-4670K is your best bet.

But crunchingwise I would want one WITH HT yes?

Fire$torm
10-31-13, 04:50 PM
I would go that route, so yeah HT FTW \m/

Beerdrinker
10-31-13, 04:59 PM
Well, the board should be secured. Just got confirmation today:

http://www.asus.com/dk/Motherboards/MAXIMUS_VI_EXTREME/

I bougth this board extremely cheap. I know itīs a OC board, but I an not planning on using it as such.

So, I need to scrape together for a CPU, and possible some better memory sticks. Any recommendation who wonīt get me broke? ( I am using 2x4GB DDR3 1333 1.5V in current system, are they OK for starters?)

EDIT: I just bougth a normal BLU-RAY player and a AppleTV (3īrd Gen), so I have a lowend HTPC up for sale, which I hope could bring me 200$ in funding for a CPU...

DrPop
10-31-13, 06:30 PM