PDA

View Full Version : Crossfire

joker
02-07-11, 08:53 PM
Probably going to be putting 2 cards into 1 system this week in Crossfire configuration. As I have never done it before, I have a question: What is involved in doing this? Just plug them in, put on the crossfire cable and go? Teach me ow wise ones. :confused:

DrPop
02-07-11, 09:11 PM
Can't claim the wise one title, but can I ask the reason for Crossfire? You get more credits without the crossfire on, if that's what you're after.

Of course...if you want a hopped up GAMER rig for stunning fast graphics on one monitor, then Crossfireing them might be the way to go.

As far as I know, you hook up the little crossfire bridge cable between the two cards, and then check the Crossfire option in the tab of CCC.

I think Maxwell and Harley have more experience with this than I do, so I'm curious as to what they'll say. BTW, which cards are you thinking about putting together in that rig? It ought to fly! ;)

joker
02-07-11, 09:40 PM
Did not know that I got less credits using crossfire. :-( I dont have knowledge about what a dumby plug is and don't want to hook up to a second monitor.

Edit: Just a pair of 5830s.

Maxwell
02-07-11, 09:58 PM
Actually, the loss in credits because you are running in Crossfire is negligible at worst. Matt over on TM did some pretty good testing, and figured that one out. I didn't believe him until I saw his results, but it convinced me... :p

General steps:
1. Uninstall the ATI driver all all its components.
2. Run DriverSweeper (http://www.phyxion.net/Driver-Sweeper/Driver-Sweeper/Version-2-8-5/).
3. Turn off the computer.
4. Stick the cards in the slots (yes, joker, interpret as you may...).
5. Hook up the Crossfire bridge (just push it in). It will look something like this:
http://i1194.photobucket.com/albums/aa369/mborneman82/2010-11-24125641.jpg
Note: depending on the card, you may need to hook up two Crossfire bridges. I had to do that on my dual 5870 setup at work.