Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Yoyo: M Queens for arm64

  1. #11
    Diamond Member
    zombie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 24th, 2010
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    6,080

    Re: Yoyo: M Queens for arm64

    Well nuts. The 32bit raspbian OS mis-identifies the CPU as ARMv7 instead of ARMv8 which is what the RP4 has. Which means that BOINC tells projects that it has the wrong CPU. And I can't find a 64 bit linux. Ubuntu hasn't released their OS for RP4 yet. No ETA either. I think I just bought an expensive paper weight.
    "Good intentions will always be pleaded for every assumption of authority. It is hardly too strong to say that the Constitution was made to guard the people against the dangers of good intentions. There are men in all ages who mean to govern well, but they mean to govern. They promise to be good masters, but they mean to be masters. ― Daniel Webster


    Avatar source
    Twitter: @zombie_67



  2. #12
    Platinum Member
    John P. Myers's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2011
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    4,312

    Re: Yoyo: M Queens for arm64

    Quote Originally Posted by zombie67 View Post
    Well nuts. The 32bit raspbian OS mis-identifies the CPU as ARMv7 instead of ARMv8 which is what the RP4 has. Which means that BOINC tells projects that it has the wrong CPU. And I can't find a 64 bit linux. Ubuntu hasn't released their OS for RP4 yet. No ETA either. I think I just bought an expensive paper weight.
    Check Aarch64. Waiting for Raspbian could take years.


  3. #13
    Silver Member

    Join Date
    July 3rd, 2017
    Location
    Saint Albans WV
    Posts
    250

    Re: Yoyo: M Queens for arm64

    https://archlinuxarm.org/platforms/a...raspberry-pi-4

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

  4. #14
    Diamond Member
    zombie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 24th, 2010
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    6,080

    Re: Yoyo: M Queens for arm64

    Quote Originally Posted by John P. Myers View Post
    Check Aarch64. Waiting for Raspbian could take years.
    I installed Arch. But it also seems to report to BOINC ARMv7.

    $ boinccmd --passwd password --get_host_info
    timezone: 0
    domain name: alarmpi
    IP addr: 192.168.2.3
    #CPUS: 4
    CPU vendor: ARM
    CPU model: ARMv7 Processor rev 3 (v7l) [Impl 0x41 Arch 7 Variant 0x0 Part 0xd08 Rev 3]
    CPU FP OPS: 1949581324.969092
    CPU int OPS: 7564296448.547140
    CPU mem BW: 1000000000.000000
    OS name: Linux Arch Linux ARM
    OS version: Arch Linux ARM [4.19.58-1-ARCH|libc 2.29 (GNU libc)]
    mem size: 2042261504.000000
    cache size: -1.000000
    swap size: 0.000000
    disk size: 125217406976.000000
    disk free: 116754558976.000000
    Although now that I look at your post again, I see you spell it with two "a"s. I assumed it was a typo. I googled Aarch64, but I don't understand the results. Are you talking about a flavor of linux or a package to install or...?
    "Good intentions will always be pleaded for every assumption of authority. It is hardly too strong to say that the Constitution was made to guard the people against the dangers of good intentions. There are men in all ages who mean to govern well, but they mean to govern. They promise to be good masters, but they mean to be masters. ― Daniel Webster


    Avatar source
    Twitter: @zombie_67



  5. #15
    Platinum Member
    John P. Myers's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2011
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    4,312

    Re: Yoyo: M Queens for arm64

    Quote Originally Posted by zombie67 View Post
    I installed Arch. But it also seems to report to BOINC ARMv7.



    Although now that I look at your post again, I see you spell it with two "a"s. I assumed it was a typo. I googled Aarch64, but I don't understand the results. Are you talking about a flavor of linux or a package to install or...?
    Yes, Aarch wasn't a typo, however now that i'm looking at it again, i can't find the same info i found when i originally posted it. There's a Gentoo 64 that also works but might need a few tweaks. I don't have a RP4 though. Was just trying to be helpful.


  6. #16
    Diamond Member
    zombie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 24th, 2010
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    6,080

    Re: Yoyo: M Queens for arm64

    It was worth a try! At least I got experience with a different kind of linux.

    For now, I have it OC to 1.6ghz and running Einstein.
    "Good intentions will always be pleaded for every assumption of authority. It is hardly too strong to say that the Constitution was made to guard the people against the dangers of good intentions. There are men in all ages who mean to govern well, but they mean to govern. They promise to be good masters, but they mean to be masters. ― Daniel Webster


    Avatar source
    Twitter: @zombie_67



  7. #17
    Platinum Member
    Mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 28th, 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    3,736

    Re: Yoyo: M Queens for arm64

    Maybe this would work?

    https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Architectures/ARM

    Current stable release

    The current stable release for ARMv7 can always be found at the ARM Image landing page
    The current stable release for aarch64 can always be found at Alternate Architectures landing page

    Supported Hardware and Devices

    We support a wide variety of hardware and devices from numerous Single Board Computers (SBCs) like the Raspberry Pi 2 and 3 through to Chromebooks and SBSA compliant Servers.

    Here is list of device pages based on device category or SoC:

    Raspberry Pi ...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •