Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: It's not you, it's me. My adventure with Vast.AI

It's not you, it's me. My adventure with Vast.AI

This is kind of some rambling observations and a plea for help, since right now I'm feeling pretty dumb. I know I'm missing something quite obvious and have no idea what. Spent about 3 hours off and on trying to get things going (between shots of rum at the end).
    So to start off I am by no means a Linux expert, so this is most likely user error.

I saw a machine for rent at less than 10 cents an hour with 2 1060s, so figured I'd at least give it the benefit of the doubt. If anything I could learn a thing or two. For the record I'm talking about this.
    Apparently they use Docker images, so I figured I'd throw this NVIDIA-savvy one on there.

Right off this was new to me. Apparently the home directory is simply the contents of the boinc folder. There was no remote_hosts.cfg, which already had me wondering what was going on, so I created one. Edited the gui_rpc_auth file, while I was at it, then restarted boinc with the only command I know.
    /etc/init.d/boinc-client restart which seemed to work.
    Something to note here is that I did not need sudo for any of the commands - I had to install Nano and curl in order to grab the public IP address and actually edit anything.
    What a disappointment when I tried to connect remotely and failed. I figured they had a firewall, and since I was so lost anyway I decided to just throw a Ubuntu docker image on it instead. The boinc docker was far too confusing simply because I didn't know where to input the commands starting with docker run -d \. They allow you to use ssh or pass the arguments directly onto docker, and I figured SSH was what I wanted. Maybe not?