Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: WCG is "up"... very limited work sent as test

  1. #11
    Administrator
    Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    6,155

    Re: WCG is "up"... very limited work sent as test

    Quote Originally Posted by myshortpencil View Post
    Does anyone know if WCG is sending out work? I got some in the early July test but nothing since. Also, I don't see a server status page -- probably part of the non-BOINC-conforming website that Al mentioned.
    Hey MSP, I haven't been poking it for work for the last week or more. My guess would be probably some, but not much and you probably won't get any unless you run a tickler. They have never had a status page...would be a welcome addition.



  2. #12
    Silver Member
    myshortpencil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 13th, 2012
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    958

    Re: WCG is "up"... very limited work sent as test

    Thank you, Al

  3. #13
    Administrator
    Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    6,155

    Re: WCG is "up"... very limited work sent as test

    Not much to update here. They are still in testing. More work is available, including releases of gpu work. You CAN now update your preferences. Alas, you still get Boinc credits at Free-DC and BoinStats, but no credit or hours increases show at WCG. I'm hoping that at least the hours are logged somewhere and can be added in later, but they have never said that will ever happen.



  4. #14
    Silver Member
    MindCrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 26th, 2014
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    933

    Re: WCG is "up"... very limited work sent as test

    Al (Sphynx, right?) I know you have far more and far better gpus, And way better internet than me but how are you getting that much work from WCG? The transfer failures are so frequent that ive turned things down to 1 max concurrent transfer per project. That worked for a bit yesterday but i still had to baby it and hit "retry now" a lot. Today, however, I'm getting "internet access ok - project servers may be temporarily down" and chrome prevents me from accessing the website because of a security certificate issue.

    update: seems they've fixed their security certificate issues, i was able to clear my transfer queue but it still took multiple retries. and that was just for a handful of WUs. I believe it's like 3 files per wu.
    Last edited by MindCrime; 09-10-22 at 01:33 PM.

  5. #15
    Administrator
    Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    6,155

    Re: WCG is "up"... very limited work sent as test

    Quote Originally Posted by MindCrime View Post
    Al (Sphynx, right?) I know you have far more and far better gpus, And way better internet than me but how are you getting that much work from WCG? The transfer failures are so frequent that ive turned things down to 1 max concurrent transfer per project. That worked for a bit yesterday but i still had to baby it and hit "retry now" a lot. Today, however, I'm getting "internet access ok - project servers may be temporarily down" and chrome prevents me from accessing the website because of a security certificate issue.

    update: seems they've fixed their security certificate issues, i was able to clear my transfer queue but it still took multiple retries. and that was just for a handful of WUs. I believe it's like 3 files per wu.
    Yesterday was an anomaly, so don't base anything you do on what happened when their security cert expired. Things at WCG are improving today.

    As for the amount of work I process, well, as I've mentioned before, you need a tickler to update as frequently as possible and you need to be running multiple clients or running an app_config running multiple wus on each client. Multiple clients work best. Old gpus are not a problem, I've run multiple wus on 750ti's and gt1030's. I run 6 at a time on a gtx 1650 Super. It's all about how many clients you run and how often that number allows you to ask for work.



  6. #16
    Silver Member
    MindCrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 26th, 2014
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    933

    Re: WCG is "up"... very limited work sent as test

    i'm running on a 750ti and 2x 7970s. my issue is the transfers fail and timeout and get a pushback time. I'm running BPU to get work every 3 mins but i don't have anything that will retry failed downloads. does your "tickler" do that?

  7. #17
    Administrator
    Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    6,155

    Re: WCG is "up"... very limited work sent as test

    Quote Originally Posted by MindCrime View Post
    i'm running on a 750ti and 2x 7970s. my issue is the transfers fail and timeout and get a pushback time. I'm running BPU to get work every 3 mins but i don't have anything that will retry failed downloads. does your "tickler" do that?
    No, it won't retry stuck downloads. Historically, I've retried mine manually.



  8. #18
    Silver Member
    MindCrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 26th, 2014
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    933

    Re: WCG is "up"... very limited work sent as test

    Quote Originally Posted by Al View Post
    No, it won't retry stuck downloads. Historically, I've retried mine manually.
    but you can retry all hosts remotely, right?

  9. #19
    Administrator
    Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2011
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    6,155

    Re: WCG is "up"... very limited work sent as test

    Yes, I use BoincTasks.



  10. #20
    Diamond Member
    zombie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 24th, 2010
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    6,907

    Re: WCG is "up"... very limited work sent as test

    Wait, a tickler/updater CAN retry uploads/downloads.

    --network_available
    Tell the client to retry deferred network communication.
    Something like:

    Code:
    C:\Program Files\BOINC\boinccmd" --host 192.168.x.xxx --passwd xxxx --network_available
    So stick that in your tickler file to run every 5 minutes or so, to prevent the increasing back-off.
    "Bohnam beats those drums like they owe him money."

    Avatar source


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •