Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need replacement for older harddrive...

Past Admin

Need replacement for older harddrive...

Hey there team.

My primary working station is in need of a replacement harddrive. The current one is a Samsung F1 250GB which I have been running for well over 3 years (with the format: C done once a year) I have a gut feeling that says itīs time to replace it.

Obviously my need for storage is not that big since the 250GB has been more than enough for 3 years!

Give me some headers please!

(please have in mind that I plan on migrating to Linux sometime in the future. (We only need web, word, homebank and such...No fancy games...) Also it would be great if the HD could be part of a future upgrade. Donīt wanna spend money now, just to buy another HD later on
    Proud member of SETI.USA since 28īth December 2005.

Joined old MB Dec. 28th 2005 - 5837 posts

Past Administrator

Re: Need replacement for older harddrive...

Hey Beer,

First, are you sure your drive is going bad?

There are some good utilities for checking/monitoring the health of most SATA/ATA S.M.A.R.T. compliant HDDs. Speedfan has a detailed smart section that also allows you to compare your drive status with others of the same make & model via Speedfan's database.

For other utilities see this list (which is probably not a complete listing) ---> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compari...M.A.R.T._tools

For a new HDD Samsung and Hitachi have improved reliability over the last few years. Seagate of late has been getting worse from what I can see from user ratings on Newegg. Western digital still has a good reputation. I do not have any experience with the new SSD technology and personally I am holding out until I start seeing some long term reliability reports.

Future Maker? Teensy 3.6

Gold Member