Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Alliterative Ways to Power Case Fans.

Silver Member

Alliterative Ways to Power Case Fans.

We apparently the admins of my building decided to turn on the steam heating system and cut the power to everyone's AC units (cheap asses) and my room is like an oven. I swear I'm gonna wake up one day to find I turned into a cookie if this keeps up. If I close my vent the hot air backs up in my ducts and starts to radiate through the walls nor does opening the windows help (as a construction engineering student I call this failure by design). I then came up with an idea, why don't I make a window fan that will fit the weird window opening. The framing for it will be made of foam board insulation and it'll have a small HEPA filter cartridge (dam city air). Because of the limited space as strip of three 120mm case fans are perfect for the job. While I do have an old PSU sitting around I was hoping to use something lighter and more compact. Any ideas on how to power them without a good old PSU?
    Cruncher Status
    Kuro Chan: Offline Glacies: Online P/T

Past Administrator

Re: Alliterative Ways to Power Case Fans.

About 2 decades ago (yes, yes, yes... and no laughing plz) I made a power supply for an external hard drive from a 12V@1.5A transformer and two voltage regulators, 12V & 5.5V. You can make something similar sans the 5.5V regulator.

First just figure out the total current all the fans will draw by adding together their respective current ratings. So if you have five fans and each one is rated at 300mA that totals to 1.5 Amps so a 12~14V transformer rated at 2 amps will work. Same for the 12V regulator.