Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which Haswell Quad core?

Past Admin

Which Haswell Quad core?

Hey team.

Migth have a shot at a Asus Maximus VI Extreme board. ( I will know within 3 days)

I have a Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo, does that fit that socket?

But the big question is: Which Haswell Quad-core CPU will give best bang for the buck? (have been running AMD for the last 4 years)

Any advice appreciated.
    Proud member of SETI.USA since 28īth December 2005.

Joined old MB Dec. 28th 2005 - 5837 posts

Past Administrator

Re: Which Haswell Quad core?

Do you like to overclock or will you run it stock speeds? Answer changes based on that.

Past Admin

Probably stock speed. Havenīt done much OC, and havenīt got time to play around.

Past Administrator

Yep, that 212 Evo will fit. Note that only the i7-47xx have Hyper-threading support, and all cost about the same. So might as well spend the extra $30 bucks for the K version (unlocked multiplier).

For non-HT Haswell, I'd say the i5-4670K is your best bet.

Future Maker? Teensy 3.6

Past Admin

Quote Originally Posted by Fire$torm View Post
    Yep, that 212 Evo will fit. Note that only the i7-47xx have Hyper-threading support, and all cost about the same. So might as well spend the extra $30 bucks for the K version (unlocked multiplier).

For non-HT Haswell, I'd say the i5-4670K is your best bet.
    But crunchingwise I would want one WITH HT yes?

Past Administrator

I would go that route, so yeah HT FTW

Future Maker? Teensy 3.6

Past Admin

Well, the board should be secured. Just got confirmation today:

http://www.asus.com/dk/Motherboards/MAXIMUS_VI_EXTREME/

I bougth this board extremely cheap. I know itīs a OC board, but I an not planning on using it as such.

So, I need to scrape together for a CPU, and possible some better memory sticks. Any recommendation who wonīt get me broke? ( I am using 2x4GB DDR3 1333 1.5V in current system, are they OK for starters?)